High Tech, High Touch, Part II

ashlcd.jpg 

I’ve spent the last couple of days reading quite a few interesting pieces about emerging technologies, and the future of education as well as work. I’m rereading David Thornburg’s The new basics, and have been reading some articles by Judy Breck, as well as an interview with her on Rudy de Waele’s blog. All of this work focuses on the for a substantial part on the importance of personal, mobile, and connected digital tools as part of the solution to make education more meaningful and relevant

For example, for the past three months or so (ever since I started this blog) I have been spending much more social time online, chatting on MSN Messenger and IM with my sister and friends, using Skype for conference calls, and posting pictures on flickr and my MSN Space, and attempting to maintain coherent lists of websites at del.icio.us and Furl. And of course, I’m still using more “traditional” channels like email and cell phone.

Am I more connected? Absolutely. Do I feel more connected? I’m not so sure. Personal, mobile, and wireless technologies are great tools for anywhere and anytime connectivity to other people and information sources 24/7, but as far as I’m concerned, nothing beats face-to-face communication, no matter how you slice it. Even so, I wonder how I would feel if I were cut off from my digital channels all of a sudden……

More about this topic to follow, it’s been bugging me for a while now…

One response to “High Tech, High Touch, Part II

  1. Pingback: Can We Have Too Much Technology? « Ubiquitous Thoughts

Leave a Reply

