Reflections and Top Posts for 2006

reflectiononabuilding.jpg

As many other people are doing, I started looking back at the posts I’ve written since I started my blog in May 2006. It’s always interesting to see how your work progresses over time, and I was a little surprised about the quality of some of my earlier posts (they seemed so much better when I wrote them). 2006 was the first year in which I started to seriously examine the blogosphere, and one way in which I did so was by creating my own blog. Here are a few observations about getting into the mix:

  • Blogging is difficult, especially if you want to do it well and on a regular basis. I’ve learned that it is better to blog when you have something to say than to blog because you haven’t posted in a while (i.e. blogging on a daily basis, or extreme blogging as Will Richardson calls it, is pretty much an impossibility for me);
  • Like many other things, you can’t understand what it takes to blog until you actually do it for a while;
  • Blogging is more about process than product;
  • I usually get an idea for a blog from something I’ve read or seen online;
  • When I blog, I tend to spend a lot of time reading other blogs and news sources while writing;
  • Because of blogging and feedreaders, I’ve started reading more, and more digital resources; I’ve also had to rethink how I deal with the flood of information that is out there;
  • Related to this is the fact that Web 2.0 tools are enabling everybody to create content, so besides dealing with quantity, I’ve had to be more scrupulous when looking for quality.
  • The way in which I write (and think) has become less linear than it already was (see also this post by Chris Bowers);
  • My writing has matured because I’m writing more and for a wider audience;
  • I’ve started using other Internet-based tools such as tagging and media-sharing sites.

Note btw that a lot of these bullet points are important ones to think about for education when considering the value of blogging for teaching and learning.

And now…..

My top posts for 2006 (in no particular order):

Mobile Learning Redefined (Nov. 28)

Cell Phones in Schools, Part II (Oct. 17)

We All Need Perspective  (Sept. 7)

High Tech, High Touch (Aug. 15)

I really tried to limit myself to what I thought were the most important posts without forcing myself to create a Top 5 or Top 10.

Image credit: “Reflection on a Building”, Takanawho’s photostream,
http://www.flickr.com/photos/28481088@N00/311823186/

Leave a Reply

