You Don’t Always Need a PowerPoint Presentation

While not as “disruptive” a presentation as Will Richardson, for example, has been talking and writing about, one of my presentations at this year’s NCSS conference in San Diego is NOT a PowerPoint ;). I was told I had about 8 minutes to present a unit plan that a teacher and I wrote a while back for Digital Age: Technology-Based K-12 Lesson Plans for Social Studies. So instead of doing another standup-powerpoint-to-death talk, I made a short video. You can watch it here.

I agree with Will that the “traditional” presentation just doesn’t work too well in many cases. That’s why I’ve started doing a more poster presentations, because they allow for more informal, personal, (and dare I say it, customized) interaction between presenter and attendee…

Image Credit: National Council for the Social Studies: http://www.socialstudies.org/conference/

One response to “You Don’t Always Need a PowerPoint Presentation

  1. Pingback: NCSS San Diego, Friday Sessions « Ubiquitous Thoughts

Leave a Reply

